Prime Minister Browne attends CDB Board of Governors Meeting in St. Kitts and Nevis

by fujoasha14

ST.JOHN’S, Antigua and Barbuda – 19th May 2015……Prime Minister the Hon. Gaston Browne left the country on Tuesday for Saint Kitts and Nevis for the 45th Annual Meeting of the Caribbean Development Bank’s (CDB) Board of Governors taking place on May 20 and 21.

Under the theme, ‘Facilitating Growth: Transforming Regional Logistics Infrastructure and Encouraging Youth Entrepreneurship,’ the meeting brings together Governors, Directors and other representatives from the Bank’s 27 member countries.

During the event, CDB will release its Annual Report, Development Effectiveness Review and Special Development Fund Report which provide a comprehensive look at the Bank’s performance in 2014.

Speaking before departing for Saint Kitts and Nevis, Prime Minister Browne applauded the high level of probity, accountability and performance of the CDB and extend congratulations to the Board of Directors in the conduct of its strategic oversight role on behalf of the Board of Governors, and to the management and staff as they execute their functions accordingly.

The country’s leader also congratulated the Bank on securing a revised “stable” rating from Standard and Poor’s in the Agency’s latest report, which also affirmed CDB’s “double A” status on its foreign currency rating.  He also revealed that Antigua and Barbuda will continue to accord the CDB “most Favoured creditor” status, irrespective of the country’s fiscal challenges.PM Official

During the meeting, two major studies will be released entitled: ‘Making Air Transport Work Better for the Caribbean’ and ‘Youth are the Future: The Imperative of Youth Employment for Sustainable Development in the Caribbean.’  Two seminars exploring the findings will also be staged, with panelists drawn from civil society, public and private sector.

Prime Minister Browne is accompanied by Financial Secretary Whitfield Harris to the meeting.

The Opening Ceremony, lecture and seminars will also be broadcast live on the Annual Meeting’s dedicated microsite, commencing from 9 am Wednesday.

Chair of the CDB is newly elected Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris.